On 7th March 2020, Victoria’s Minister for Solar Homes, Lily D’Ambrosio, announced that the solar battery rebate has been expanded to include 247 eligible postcodes.

The rebate is aimed at providing eligible households which already have solar systems of 5kW or more with a rebate of up to $4,838 towards installing battery storage at their homes.

Over 70% of the additional new 143 postcodes are in regional centres such as Bendigo, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Yarrawonga, Mildura, Port Fairy, Traralgon, Sale, and Bairnsdale, which cover approx. half of the homes that have existing solar systems of 5kW or greater. 

The additional postcodes were selected in consultation with power distribution network service providers to target growth areas with large numbers of solar powered homes.

Solar Victoria has also stated that they will look to expand the battery rebate program to controlled batteries, microgrids and VPPs from July 2020.